Four Sisters, Louisville KY

Tucked away on the fairly busy Frankfort Avenue, this cute little restaurant provides a sweet and quaint atmosphere the second you step through the door. We came in around 11:30AM and though half the tables had customers, it wasn’t what I would call loud or overly busy. When we walked in the warmly smiling cashier handed us some menus and patiently awaited our order. After ordering at the counter we took a table towards the back and settled in.

Only a few minutes after we sat down my Nutella Latte arrived looking very pretty with a little latte art. After taking the necessary pictures for proof, I took my first gleeful sip to find some foamy, creamy goodness. The velvety texture was well enhanced by the subtly chocolate hazelnutty flavor that was not overpoweringly sweet, as one might expect something like this to be. In a lesser coffee shop an oppressively sugary concoction is likely what I would have gotten, but this Nutella Latte was perfect.

Mmm Nutella Latte
Mmm Nutella Latte

During our short wait, as I continued to sip on my lovely latte, I noticed their one of their logos with four little birds anthropromorphized by the addition of different hairdos and props. As I gazed upon it I just fell in love. I know it doesn’t have anything to do with the food, but it was just a fun little logo to see around the shop. There were a few other decor pieces with four birds on them, as well as some unique little knickknacks I believe was meant to show off some of the owners’ other varied interests. All these little touches just added to the homey feel of the restaurant.

Four Sisters bird logo (love it!)
Four Sisters bird logo (love it!)

I didn’t have to sit around just admiring the furnishings for long, as our savory items arrived no more than ten minutes after my luscious latte. All of the crêpes, that enrobed a variety of fresh and thoughtfully selected ingredients, were delicious on their own. Each crêpe was a softly spongy, yet slightly crisp, buttery vehicle for each culinary composition. Next time I plan to try one of the simpler offerings that would have allowed the crêpe to shine through even more but do not that take that as me complaining. First off the Salmon and Cream Cheese Crêpe I tried is Four Sisters answer to a typical deli bagel with a slight twist.

Salmon and Cream Cheese Crêpe
Salmon and Cream Cheese Crêpe

I know from the image above this looks like a simple dish, but do not let this aesthetically clean crêpe fool you, there is a lot of flavor going on. For one thing the interior was packed with good quality lox (nicely smoked) and generously layered with more thinly sliced red onion. The briny capers added a little salt to the party, with the thick and delicious cream cheese rounding out this crêpe as a nice creamy resting point. The only thing I might have tried to change is getting a nice even shmear of the cream cheese along the crêpe to better distribute its attributes more evenly throughout the dish. This was difficult for me to do as the cream cheese was a bit chilly and not pliable when I first tried to do so. I’m sure if I had tried to push it I would probably have also shredded my pretty and delicate crêpe which might be why it’s not done as such. Overall though I was happy with my selection.

Sweet Crêpe of the Day
Sweet Crêpe of the Day

The shining star though (so far as I was concerned) was the Sweet Crepe Special of the Day  which contained a cookie butter, fig jam and goat cheese filling. This may sound an odd combination, it certainly isn’t one I would have concocted, but it held its own and was super tasty. My taste buds were intrigued with the first bites of fig jam and cookie butter alone, but once I got to a spot where there was goat cheese as well I was impressed on a whole nother level. The goat cheese brought a great tangyness that helped to cut all the other sweeter elements, not that any of these were overwhelmingly saccharine, on the contrary they each added their own unique characteristics to the dish as a whole. The whipped cream garnish was also super fresh and along with the berry coulis dots that adorned the edge of the plate, both served to subtly enhance the crêpe rather than just heightening the appearance. Even my picky-eating hubby enjoyed this crêpe enough to have half after his own savory crêpe.

Savory Crêpe of the Day
Savory Crêpe of the Day

Last (though certainly not least) was hubby’s selection of the Savory Crepe Special of the Day which consisted of shredded chicken, spinach and mozzarella. When I read this item off the menu board I have to admit I was a touch skeptical. Not that it would be a bad combination, it just didn’t appear an exciting or even interesting choice. I’m not usually crazy about chicken in general because when I go to restaurants I often find that chefs don’t push its flavors enough to make it worth my purchase. However in this crêpe its the shredded chicken that brings everything else together in exquisitely delectable harmony. If this poultry is what they put on their Bahn Mi, I look forward to making its acquaintance in the future. I know it doesn’t look as artfully presented as the other crêpes, but when I took a bite I immediately felt the beautifully marinated chicken’s spices and sauce just dancing across my tongue. The spinach and mozzarella absorbed this flavor profile and brought some more delicate hints of creaminess and nuttiness along with them. In total it was just a beautifully balanced crêpe and I’m a little jealous I only got a bite of it, as I could have easily devoured half.

Three crêpes proved the perfect amount for our hearty appetites and the bill was reasonable as well. If you are in a hurry we also saw that they offer eay to hold portable cardboard crêpe pockets you could take on the run. The service was warm and attentive and the ambience was a supremely pleasant, calm comfort and a perfect for the start of a hectic day. At the end of the meal I was thoroughly content with our sampling and excited to return another day to try a variety of other menu items, particularly a Bahn Mi and possibly the lavender honey crêpe.

I hope that you enjoyed this little post. Until next time keep brunching well, maybe in a nice, cozy and tasty place like Four Sisters.

Today’s Featured Brunch: Four Sisters, 2246 Frankfort Ave, Louisville, KY 40206

Leave a Reply

