Cricket’s Cafe, Sellersburg IN

Hubby and I were feeling a touch on the lazy side this morning, so we took it easy and went to the conveniently located Cricket’s Cafe. It also didn’t hurt that hubby had a coupon. We’ve been before and it has a nice homey kind of feel, where you can order at the counter and then wait for the food to be brought to your table. After debating the menu for a bit we placed our order and sat at a booth with a beautiful ray of sunlight streaming through the window onto the table.

Our number, utensils and my Cinnela latte
Our number, utensils and my Cinnela latte

One of the items I ordered came from the special lattes menu referred to by the flavor combo as well as (I presume) the staff member or other person to come up with the concoction. There were a few that sounded interesting but I went with the Cinnella or Preston’s Java, which I was told had a flavor mix of cinnamon and vanilla. My Cinnella Latte was ready pretty quickly, but the first few sips had rather an artificial after taste. Since it was also really sweet I didn’t particularly enjoy my selection, but it did get a little easier to swallow after a while. I may have enjoyed it more in a larger size where more coffee and milk might have better balanced out the syrups artifical-ness and overwhelming sweetness, alas in its twelve ounce size I don’t recommend it. The rest of our food arrived fairly quickly on brightly colored plastic plates.

Our Cricket's brunch
Our Cricket’s brunch

My Breakfast Burrito looked pretty fun in its spinach tortilla and did not disappoint. It was loaded up with bacon, potatoes, onions, peppers, ooey-gooey cheese and a heaping amount of jalepenos that made it deliciously spicy. The fluffy eggs that folded around the rest of the ingredients were wonderfully tasty and the tortilla was warm and soft. All-in-all a delightfully filling dish.

Breakfast Buritto
Breakfast Buritto

I believe I had tried the Biscuits and Gravy the last time we were here, but couldn’t quite recall my feelings so I sampled it again. Though they weren’t terrible, they weren’t exactly great either. The biscuit was somewhat dry and didn’t have that soft, buttery goodness I hope for. It was topped with a smooth and well-seasoned though unfortunately slightly chalky gravy. In summation passable, but not what I would call recommended.

Biscuits and Gravy
Biscuits and Gravy

On the other side of the spectrum through the Hashbrown Casserole (which is only available Saturday and Sunday) was rather tasty. It had a creamier cheesy interior with nicely crisped edges and a delicious flavor. Hubby thought there was something in there he didn’t like (I’d guess the onion or something similar), but I enjoyed the blended and clearly-stated essence.

Hashbrown Casserole
Hashbrown Casserole

Hubby’s Breakfast Club which I overheard the cashier describe as a club sandwich with an egg on top, was definitely something a little different. The two pieces of wheat toast had lettuce, tomato, cheddar, ham and an over-easy egg stacked between them. Though hubby thought the tomato was a bit strong in the dish, I thought it nicely complemented the rest of the savory and salty elements of a standard club. It also came across as a unique take on the breakfast sandwich and it is always nice to see a little creativity and variation on standard breakfast items. Although it was on special I’d certainly advise giving it a try.

Breakfast Club
Breakfast Club

At the end of this meal it was nice to go somewhere simple and easy today. The facilities are warm, inviting and clean with service that is pleasant and attentive. It may not have been the most stellar array of offerings but they were perfectly satifying and satisfactory especially considering the price and location.

Thank you for taking the time to read this post, I hope you all enjoy a great week and until next time keep brunching hard in good company.

Today’s featured brunch: Cricket’s Cafe, 7613 Old State Rd 60, Sellersburg, IN 47172

Leave a Reply

